What’s the Statute of Limitations for a Lawsuit in Minnesota?

Find out how long you have to file a Minnesota lawsuit for a car accident, dog bite, medical malpractice, product liability, and other personal injuries.

Questions about a Minnesota personal injury lawsuit?
Contact our lawyers for a free case review. If you or a loved one has been injured, you may want to speak with the lawyers at Johnson // Becker to see if you may be entitled to financial compensation for your injuries.
Get a Free Case Review

Statutes of limitations govern the time limit in which a lawsuit must be started. These limits vary by the type of claim. The right to sue and recover damages ends when the statute of limitations expires. Below is a summary of Minnesota’s statutes of limitations regarding common personal injury and wrongful death claims.

 

Case:              Wrongful Death

Time Limit:  Three (3) Years from the date of the death

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 573.02, Subd. 1

 

Case:              Car Accidents

Time Limit:  Six (6) Years from the date of the injury

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

 

Case:              Semi-Truck, Commercial Vehicle, or Bus Accidents

Time Limit:  Six (6) Years from the date of the injury

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

 

Case:              Bicycle Accidents

Time Limit:  Six (6) Years from the date of the injury

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

 

Case:              Pedestrian Accidents

Time Limit:  Six (6) Years from the date of the injury

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

 

Case:              Motorcycle Accidents

Time Limit:  Six (6) Years from the date of the injury

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

 

Case:              Product Liability

Time Limit:  Four (4) Years from the date of the injury for an action based on strict liability

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 2

 

Case:              Dog Bites/Dog Attacks

Time Limit:  Six (6) years from the date of the injury

Authority: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

 

Case:              Boating, Jet Ski, or Watercraft Accidents

Time Limit:  Six (6) years from the date of the injury

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

 

Case:              Slip, Trip, Fall Accidents (Premises Injuries)

Time Limit:              Two (2) years from discovery of injury caused by defective design or construction or no more than 10 years after substantial completion of project;

Six (6) years from injury due to negligent maintenance, operation, or inspection of property

Authority:                Minn. Stat. § 541.051, Subd. 1(c)

Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

 

Case:              Dram Shop/Liquor Liability

Time Limit:              Notice requirement of 240 days after attorney-client relationship begins.

Authority:                Minn. Stat. § 340A.802, Subd. 2

 

Case:              Medical Malpractice – Injury

Time Limit:  Four (4) years from the date the “cause of action accrued.”

Authority:    Minn. Stat. § 541.076

 

Case:              Medical Malpractice – Death

Time Limit:              Three years from the date of death, but not more than four years from the date the cause of action started.

Authority:                Minn. Stat. § 541.076, Minn. Stat. § 573.02

 

Case:              Minors – Special Statute of Limitations

Time Limit:              One year after reaching the “age of majority” of 18 (with the exception in medical negligence cases, which are four-years plus seven-year tolling provision).

Authority:                Minn. Stat. § 541.15(a)(1)

We offer a free case evaluation. Please contact us using the form below or by calling us at (800) 279-6386. We would be honored to speak with you and respond promptly to every inquiry we receive.

Free Case Evaluation

Verified 100% Secure Site To contact us for a free review of your potential case, please fill out the form below or call us toll free 24 hrs/day by dialing: (800) 279-6386.